About us

We remain a charity with no overheads, with all Trustees and volunteers giving of their time at no cost, and without claiming expenses. This allows us to promise that all funds received go directly towards helping cancer and haematology patients in Buckinghamshire.

Our Trustees are all local residents, with established links to, or direct experience of the Unit.

June Wilson OBE was the driving force behind the inception of the Unit, and has worked with indefatigable energy ever since to further enhance the Unit’s reputation. As Sister June Wilson, she has many years of first hand experience working within the hospital as a specialist cancer nurse.

Dr Ann Watson and Dr Andy Theobald have similarly been involved from the outset as clinicians within the unit.  Dr Theobald continues to work within the CCHU as well as in General Practice. Dr Watson recently retired after a long career as a Consultant Haematologist at Stoke Mandeville but is pleased to continue her association as the present Chairman of the CCHF. Dr Eagleton is a senior haematology consultant within the unit.Dr Nick Bates heads the Acute Oncology team.

Mr Richard Atfield is an experienced NHS manager, having previously worked at SMH for 25 years. He is now a lecturer in NHS management at Oxford Brookes and the University of Canberra. Mr Rob McNeil brings experience as a retired civil servant at the Home Office and as a longstanding trustee for another major charity.

Chris Lowe of Camfield Chapman Lowe audits and prepares our accounts for submission to the Charity Commission, a service generously provided at no cost.

We are honoured and privileged to have Lord Carrington KG as our Patron.